The Power of One … Can Be The Power of Many

Today I helped finish packing a shipping container destined for Uganda, which leaves with my heart’s wishes and my soul’s prayers to make its way to those who I hope will need the contents and will know that others care for them, their individual and collective well-being.

John Shavers is a quiet, unassuming man, quite tall with a warm, welcoming smile that starts with a spark in his dark brown eyes that transforms into a face full of promise.  His passion overwhelms me even now as he steadily labors in love for Africa in all that he does.  John is tireless, he is perpetually in motion, he is quick to seize the moment and slow to release its magic which showers those of us around him with a desire to give more ourselves.

The thing about John is that his dedication to those in need in Africa, particularly Ugandans, is contagious!  I think I have (gladly) caught the bug and am eagerly sharing the vision and trying to model his example (albeit at a much smaller scale).  He calls me on the phone to tell me of the next lead, excited about the opportunities that abound.  He meets with his disciples monthly, sharing his progress in expanding his network for achieving on-the-ground compassionate plantings that seem to bear so much more fruit than the typical yield and even out of season!  His groupies (I am one of them) meet to re-fire their energies often, but he is the epitome of inexhaustible resources and we never doubt that his deep well of servant leadership will not dwindle.

How can just one individual accomplish so much?  Why, I now know why… he is the essence of inspiration, a spirit of “can do” in a world of “won’t” or “don’t give a da_ _.”  He is a shooting star that others seek who enables us to see beyond ourselves into our potential dimensions heretofore unknown.

My faith is restored, not solely because of the power of one, but how it can affect the release of the power of many and the resulting synergy is sending out its tendrils into receptive minds just waiting to be called to their true purpose. Then the humanity in those who listen and connect to the strands of life revealed emerges into the Light once more – a rainbow of beauty that bows in humility at the love turned loose on the world!

My thanks to John for guiding me to the power within so I too may share my Light! Shine on, brother, shine on!

About Dana Dolsen

I am a Canadian-born, naturalized US citizen, who lives in the moment seeking Harmony and Peace with Resolve and Joy. Being in Community is my home which is comprised through my connectedness with both the human and the wild. I am a natural resources social scientist and strategic thinker-planner looking to facilitate a systemic, holistic, adaptive, resilient, dynamic, and synergistic integration of the human ecosystem for long term planetary survival. Namaste!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Power of One … Can Be The Power of Many

  1. Danya Dolsen says:

    This was lovely to read, Dad. The way you write about John is inspirational to me! I enjoy your style, especially how you seamlessly weave poetic language into your writing. :]

Leave a Reply

